BIMSTEC Summit 2017

      No Comments on BIMSTEC Summit 2017


The 4th BIMSTEC Summit will be held towards the end of 2017. Addressing the media after 17th session of BIMSTEC senior official’s meeting at Kathmandu, Nepal Foreign Secretary Shankar Das Bairagi said that summit will take place in October-November but the dates will be finalised after consultation with member states.

He said that as part of preparation of the summit Foreign Ministers meeting will be held at Kathmandu in June 2017.

Bairagi said that various core sectors including connectivity, trade, investment, energy, technology transfer and tourism were discussed in the meeting.

All member states expressed firm commitment to effective implementation of the outcome document of BIMSTEC leaders retreat held at Goa last year.

Secretary (East) and leader of Indian delegation Preeti Saran said that India would host the first ever meeting of BIMSTEC National Security Chiefs to discuss action against spread of terrorism, violent extremism and radicalisation. She said that members decided to work together in various areas including free trade. Founded in 1997, Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC) brings together Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Myanmar, Nepal,Thailand and Sri Lanka.

The Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC) is an international organisation involving a group of countries in South Asia and South East Asia. These are: Bangladesh, India, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Bhutan and Nepal.

The fourth edition of BIMSTEC Summit-2017 will be held in Nepal. It was announced in the 17th session of BIMSTEC Senior Officials’ Meeting (SOM) held in Kathmandu, capital Nepal. In this meeting, delegates of seven member countries reviewed the progress made by BIMSTEC and recommended future course of action to strengthen regional cooperation among the group.

The importance of BIMSTEC was highlighted during the BRICS-BIMSTEC Outreach Summit held at Goa in October 2016. In this summit, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi had expressed his desire to promote BIMSTEC and assured full cooperation it needs to move on.

On March 21, Prime Minister Modi called upon the BIMSTEC Member States to come together to counter common security threats, such as terrorism; extremism and radicalization; drugs, arms and human trafficking; and natural disasters.

The Prime Minister also said that BIMSTEC Member States should also work together to address non-traditional security threats, such as in the domain of cyber security and in maritime domain.

The BIMSTEC National Security Chiefs appreciated the Prime Minister’s vision for BIMSTEC and thanked him for hosting the first ever meeting of the National Security Chiefs of the Member States in India.


Bay of Bengal Initiative on Multi Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation

The BIMSTEC is the sub-regional group of seven countries in South Asia and South East Asia lying in the littoral and adjacent areas of the Bay of Bengal constituting a contiguous regional unity. They are India, Nepal, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Sri Lanka from South Asia and Myanmar, Thailand from South East Asia.

Established: 6 June 1997 through the Bangkok Declaration.

Headquarters: Dhaka, Bangladesh.

Objectives: Technological and economical cooperation among south Asian and south East Asian countries along the coast of the Bay of Bengal. It also covers cooperation in commerce, technology, investment, agriculture, tourism, human resource development, fisheries, transport and communication, textiles, leather etc.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *